After several weeks of cold, wet and rainy weather, the sun was shining for a beautiful night of racing at the Dacotah Speedway on Friday, May 10th. The first race of the season had drivers from all over the upper Midwest and Canada come to race along the high banks of Dacotah Speedway. Friday’s race was broadcast and presented by BEK TV.


The IMCA Sport Compact feature kicked off the 2024 season. Zach Hughbanks and Krys Yost started on the front row and led the field to the green flag. Defending track champion, Krys Yost, grabbed the lead and quickly pulled away from the field. The battle for second was heating up between Zach Hughbanks and Alex Thompson. Contact between the drivers allowed Alex Thompson to take second. As the laps wound down, Hughbanks reeled Thompson back in.

When the checkered flag waved, Alex Thompson held off Zach Hughbanks for second. Dustin Thompson finished fourth while Jordan Bauer, making his racing debut, finished fifth. Krys Yost picked up where he left off last season by parking his car in Victory Lane. 


In the Hobby Stock feature, Bill Hultberg redrew the pole position. When the green flag waved, outside pole sitter, Seth Howe-Kellar, took the lead and started to pull away. Hultberg kept Howe-Kellar in his sights as Jeremy Engelhardt and Josh Roehrich battled for third place. As the laps clicked down, Hultberg started to reel in Howe-Kellar.

A caution with five laps to go regrouped the field and on the restart, Howe-Kellar and Hultberg were side by side for the win. Howe-Kellar cleared Hultberg as the battle for fourth place raged between Terry Davenport and Roehrich.

As they crossed the finish line, Josh Roehrich made a last lap pass to finish fourth ahead of Terry Davenport. Jeremy Engelhardt finished third behind Bill Hultberg. Seth Howe-Kellar crossed the finish first and picked up the Season Opener victory. 


It was a three wide battle for the lead in the INEX Legends feature between Nate Keena, Ryan Erdahl and Casey Martin. As the three drivers jockeyed for position, it allowed the defending track champion, Preston Martin to quickly catch the leaders and drive by them to take the lead. Using the highline around the track, Preston pulled away from second place Casey Martin.

It looked like Preston Martin would walk away with another win at Dacotah Speedway until a late race caution regrouped the field with three laps to go. On the final restart, multi-time Dacotah Speedway champion, Donavin Wiest passed Casey Martin for second.

Weist gave Preston Martin a run for the money but when the checkers flag waved, it was Preston Martin crossing the line first. Donavin Wiest would settle for second place ahead of Austin Wiest. Casey Martin finished fourth while Noah Madler rounded out the top five. 


After a complete restart in the IMCA Stock Car feature, pole sitter Mark Dahl pulled away from the field when the green flag waved. The battle was on for second place between Scott Gartner and Jaden Christ. As they raced side by side, it allowed four-time WISSOTA Street Stock champion, Hunter Domagala to reel in second and third. Domagala picked off Christ for third and challenged Gartner for second. As Gartner and Domagala raced for second, they slowly started to close in on leader Dahl.

A late race caution with four laps to go regrouped the field. On the restart, Dahl drifted up the track in corner 1, taking Gartner with him, which allowed Domagala to slip by on the bottom. Caution would reset the field once more and on the final restart, Domagala had his hands full with a speedy Adam Goff.

When the checkered flag waved, Hunter Domagala held on to win his first career IMCA Stock Car victory. Adam Goff, who started 10th, finished a close second. Scott Gartner rebounded to finish third ahead of Jaden Christ and Todd Carter. 


In the final feature of the night, Caden Roberts started on the pole next to Hank Berry. When the green flag waved, Roberts nabbed the early lead but had his hands full with second place Elijah Puckett. Puckett would take the lead on lap three and quickly distanced himself from the field. However, the wiley veteran of Marlyn Seidler wasted no time finding the front of the field and started to reel in Puckett. They briefly raced side by side for the lead before Seidler took the top spot on lap 10.

Seidler started to pull away as Puckett fell into the clutches of Shawn Strand. Strand would slip by to take second before a caution with nine laps to go reset the field. On the restart, Strand had his hands full with a speedy Jeremy Keller. They battled hard for second until another caution slowed the pace of the race.

On the final restart, Seidler, Strand and Keller raced three wide for the lead. Coming to the white flag, Seidler’s car suddenly slowed allowing Keller to fly by on the outside.

When the checkered flag waved, Jeremy Keller picked up the first win of the season. Shawn Strand finished second ahead of Mark Dahl. Marcus Tomlinson finished a strong fourth place while Logan Schmitz finished fifth.


Congratulations to Tyler Staruiala from Red Deer, Alberta, CA for earning Driver of the Night powered by our friends at Tri-Energy Cenex! Tyler takes home a $50 gift card to use on gas, snacks, and more at Cenex.

Stage Stop Saloon & Grill HARD CHARGER

IMCA Sport Compacts

#16 Alex Thompson (Bismarck, ND)
  • Started: 5th
  • Finished: 2nd
  • Positions: +3
Hobby Stocks
#18 Brody Michaelsohn (Wishek, ND)
  • Started: 16th
  • Finished: 11th
  • Positions: +5
INEX Legends
#19 Donavin Wiest (Wishek, ND)
  • Started: 12th
  • Finished: 2nd
  • Positions: +10
IMCA Stock Cars
#S8 Shawn Volk (Lincoln, ND)
  • Started: 17th
  • Finished: 6th
  • Positions: +11
IMCA Modifieds
#5T Marcus Tomlinson (Turtle Lake, ND)
  • Started: 13th
  • Finished: 6th
  • Positions: +7


IMCA Sport Compacts
#00 Krys Yost (Balfour, ND)
21.219 sec
Hobby Stocks
#32 Jeremy Engelhardt (Bismarck, ND)
20.785 sec
INEX Legends
#77 Preston Martin (Lincoln, ND)
IMCA Stock Cars
#1 Mark Dahl (Bismarck, ND)
20.653 sec
IMCA Modifeds
#5E Elijah Pucket (Hazen, ND)
19.733 sec