The LegeNDary Tour made its inaugural stop at the Dacotah Speedway on Friday, June 8th – while intense racing made for a great night at the track. With all five classes in competition for Mandan Dirt Series action, powered by West River Equipment, it was just another display of the talent at Dacotah Speedway. Read more below.

IMCA Sport Compacts

Alex Thompson and Krys Yost briefly battled side by side for the lead before Yost grabbed the lead. Thompson kept Yost in his sights as he stayed within a car length or two of Yost’s rear bumper. Cautions slowed the pace of the race but they helped young Lily Christianson move through the field passing Harrison Schwartz for fourth and then Benjamin Burke for third. In the final few laps, Burke started to reel in Christianson and they battled hard for third.

When the checkered flag waved Christianson held off Burke for third. Schwartz crossed the finish line in fifth place while Yost held on to win over Thompson.

Hobby Stocks

When the green flag waved in the Hobby Stock feature, Terry Davenport and Josh Roehrich raced door to door for the lead. Roehrich found extra speed along the guardrail and grabbed the lead. Behind the leaders, it was a four battle for third between Mike Appert, Joseph Feist, Dylan Sandberg and Derrick Appert. Appert, hugging the guardrail, shuffled into third place before an early caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Appert grabbed second and challenged Roehrich for the lead. Appert took the lead just before a caution came out with six laps to go.

On the final restart of the night, Sandberg raced side by side for the lead with Appert. Using the high line, Sandberg grabbed the lead but Appert rallied back. As the white flag waved, Appert passed Sandberg out of turn two and led the field into corners three and four when a caution in the back of the pack brought out a caution.

Officials went back to the last completed lap and deemed Sandberg the victor. Appert finished second. Roehrich finished in third ahead of Davenport and Bill Hultberg.

INEX Legends

The LegeNDary Tour invaded Dacotah Speedway for round three of its five-day racing tour. After a complete restart in the INEX Legends feature, Austin Wiest and Preston Martin raced side by side for the lead when the green flag waved. Using the high line around Dacotah Speedway, Martin took the lead as Wiest and Donavin Wiest battled for second. An early caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Donavin slipped into second before yet another caution came out. Austin retook second place on the restart. As the laps wound down, Austin reeled in Martin and gave him a run for the money.

When the checkered flag waved, Martin held off Austin for the win. Noah Madler finished third while Bryce Barnhardt finished fourth ahead of Donavin.

IMCA Stock Cars

Casey Binstock and Jason Berg led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Stock Car feature. Berg grabbed the early lead before Shawn Strand slipped by on lap two. Strand’s lead was short-lived as Matt Dosch took the lead on lap three. Dosch started to pull away until a mid-race caution regrouped the field.

On the restart, it was a thrilling battle for third place between Berg, Jaden Christ, Hunter Domagala, and Marlyn Seidler. With only a few laps remaining in the feature, second place Strand started to change his driving line and close in on Dosch. But it was too little, too late as Dosch picked up his first IMCA Stock Car victory. Strand had to settle for second for the second week in a row. Domagala finished third while Seidler held off Berg for fourth.

IMCA Modified

Outside pole sitter Quentin Kinzley wasted no time taking the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Within a few laps, Kinzley was already starting to catch the tail end of the field. As Kinzley tried to negotiate his way through lapped traffic, it allowed second place Marlyn Seidler to close in. They briefly raced side by side for the lead before Kinzley turned on the afterburners and pulled away. Third-place Zach Frederick started to fade through the field, losing positions to Logan Schmitz, Jeremy Keller, and Mark Dahl.

Making a late race charge to the front, Jason Wolla passed Keller to finish fifth. Dahl finished fourth behind third-place Schmitz. Seidler finished a distant second behind the feature winner, Kinzley, who returned to victory lane for the first time since 2022.


Congratulations to Derrick Appert from Hazelton, ND for earning Driver of the Night powered by our friends at Tri-Energy Cenex! Brady takes home a $50 gift card to use on gas, snacks, and more at Cenex.

Stage Stop Saloon & Grill HARD CHARGERs

IMCA Sport Compacts
#81 Lily Christianson (Minot, ND)
  • Started: 6th
  • Finished: 3rd
  • Positions: +3
Hobby Stocks
#18 Brody Michaelsohn (Wishek, ND)
  • Started: 21st
  • Finished: 11th
  • Positions: +10

INEX Legends

#67 Evan Hendrickson (Mapleton, ND)

  • Started: 9th
  • Finished: 10th
  • +9 Positions
IMCA Stock Cars
#0 Scotty Gartner (Jamestown, ND)
  • Started: 15th
  • Finished: 7th
  • Positions: +8
IMCA Modifieds
#27W Jason Wolla (Ray, ND)
  • Started: 11th
  • Finished: 5th
  • Positions: +6


IMCA Sport Compacts

#00 Krys Yost (Balfour, ND)

  • 22.009 seconds
  • 61.339 mph

Hobby Stocks

#55 Dylan Sandberg (Bismarck, ND)

  • 20.730 seconds
  • 65.123 mph

INEX Legends 

#77 Preston Martin (Lincoln, ND)

  • 20.051 seconds
  • 67.328 mph

IMCA Stock Cars

#21D Matt Dosch (Lincoln, ND)

  • 20.530 seconds
  • 65.757 mph

IMCA Modifieds

#24Q Quentin Kinzley (Bismarck, ND)

  • 19.462 seconds
  • 69.366 mph