It was a beautiful night for racing at the Dacotah Speedway for the final Mandan Dirt Series action on Friday, August 11th. The season race for points heat up as only 2 races remain after Friday (Drive To Survive, Aug. 18; Championship Night, Aug. 25) in 2023.

Read the full race recap below.



As soon as the green flag waved, contact among the leaders in the IMCA Sport Compact allowed points leader Krys Yost to easily take the lead on the start. Alex Thompson, who lost ground in the contact, slowly worked his way to the front. He passed Dusty Thompson for third and then reeled Couy Snyder for second. As the laps wound down, Alex Thompson started closing in on the leader, Yost. However, when the checkered flag waved, Kyrs Yost crossed the finish line first. Alex Thompson had to settle for second. Couy Snyder finished third ahead of Tiffany Thorson and Dustin Thompson.


In an old race car, Dylan Sandberg started on the pole for the Hobby Stock feature. From the start, Sandberg had his hands full as he held off John Gartner Jr for the lead. Gartner’s car started to fade, losing positions to Bill Hultberg, Josh Roehrich and Kelly Hoerner. Hultberg reeled in Sandberg and it was a heat battle for the win. As the leaders raced hard, it allowed Roehrich to make a three car battle. A late race caution reset the field and with two laps to go, points leader Derrick Appert and Hoerner got together racing for fourth. The caution was charged to Appert. On the final restart, Dylan Sandberg held on to lead all 15 laps and find victory lane. Bill Hultberg finished second ahead of Josh Roehrich as Kelly Hoerner finished fourth. John Gartner Jr rounded out the top five. 


Dustin Hagen and Noah Madler started on the front row of the INEX Legends feature. As the field hugged the guardrail on the start, points leader Preston Martin immediately went to the highside and took the lead on lap three. Martin pulled away quickly until several mid-race cautions regrouped the field. The restarts allowed defending track champion, Donavin Wiest, to climb to second and challenge for the lead. They raced side by side for the lead but a caution with two laps to go set up a green-white-checkered restart. On the final restart, Preston Martin would hold off Donavin Wiest for the win. Austin Wiest finished third ahead of Gage Madler and Bryce Barnhardt. 


It was a three car battle for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature between Bryan Grenz, Barrett Berg and Shawn Volk . Berg, on the highside, took the lead as Jason Meidinger, Chris Welk Jr and Kelly Hagel raced three wide behind them for fourth, fifth and sixth. Points leader, Hunter Domagala, sliced and diced his way to the front and took the lead on lap four. Domagala pulled away until a caution for contact between Meidinger and Matt Dosch while racing for fourth. On the restart, Dosch motored into second as Volk, Geoff Hellman and Welk battled for third. When the checkered flag waved, Hunter Domagala extended his points lead with another Dacotah Speedway victory. Matt Dosch finished second while Shawn Volk finished a season best in third. Geoff Hellman finished fourth ahead of Chris Welk Jr. 


In the final feature of the night, pole sitter Caden Roberts pulled away in the IMCA Modified feature. Brent Schlafmann held tight in second as the battle raged for third between Logan Schmitz, Marlyn Seidler and Spencer Wilson. As the laps wound down, Seidler started to reel in Schlafman for second. However, as they raced hard for second, it allowed Wilson to make it a three car battle. As they raced three wide, Wilson briefly held second the position before Seidler slipped by with three laps to go. In his first full season in the IMCA Modifieds, Caden Roberts led all 25 laps and dominated to win his first IMCA Modified feature victory of his racing career. Marlyn Seidler finished second ahead of of Spencer Wilson. Brent Schlafmann finished a season best, in fourth place while Darrell Parsons rounded out Darrell Parsons. 


IMCA Modifieds

#7 Marlyn Seidler (Underwood, ND)

  • Started: 11th
  • Finished: 2nd
  • Positions + 9

WISSOTA Street Stocks

#21D Matt Dosch (Lincoln, ND)

  • Started: 11th
  • Finished: 2nd
  • Positions + 9

INEX Legends

#0 Ryan Erdahl (Jamestown, ND)

  • Started: 21st
  • Finished: 9th
  • Positions +12

Hobby Stocks

#99 Nick Kassian (Wilton, ND)

  • Started: 17th
  • Finished: 10th
  • Positions +7

IMCA Sport Compacts

#81 Krys Yost (Balfour, ND)

  • Started: 4th
  • Finished: 1st
  • Positions +3


IMCA Modifieds

#14 Caden Roberts (Dickinson, ND)

19.511 seconds

WISSOTA Street Stocks

#97 Hunter Domagala (Bismarck, ND)

20.443 seconds

INEX Legends

#77 Preston Martin (Lincoln, ND)

19.987 seconds

Hobby Stocks

#11R Bill Hultberg (Bismarck, ND)

20.881 seconds

IMCA Sport Compacts 

#16 Alex Thompson (Bismarck, ND)

22.172 seconds